Those ‘Here & Now’ Moments

There are these moments I have. These moments when I travel (ah, there it is) – when I travel beyond the everyday mundane – and in those moments, I get a little verklempt.

And I’ve had one for about the last straight 24 hours.

These moments come to me when I’m with a bunch of other people and we’re all engaged in the same thing. The first time one of these moments really hit me was when I was in a capoeira roda and I was sitting and singing and watching and I got this feeling of being right where I was supposed to be. This feeling that even though the universe is swirling around us at a billion miles an hour and people are moving and everything is changing all the time…that somehow, somehow I am here, right at this moment and everything is perfect. I’m not talking happy perfect. I’m talking calm and serene and right perfect.

In these moments, I have to fight back the tears – even though it is always a joyful moment – to fight back the tears from the overwhelming sensation of fitting, of the rightness that I’m in at that moment. I would say it’s a kind of deja vu – but that’s not quite right. I don’t have the feeling that I’ve been there before, only that it is precisely, divinely sanctioned.

And I’m feeling that right now. Yesterday, I began an artist-immersion project at CSU Summer Arts, taking a class called Solo Workshop: Transcribing the Soul. We are writing and acting and so much more. And yesterday, while meeting my classmates and listening to our instructor welcome us, I once again had that feeling of ultimate alignment, that the path I walked to get here might have been difficult, but it was the right one, and that I am in the company of like-minded beautiful people.

I am terrified and anxious and unbelievably excited.

What about you? One of my best friends said she gets them when she’s alone – like when she was driving solo for a long distance. What are your Here & Now Moments? How do you know? When was the last time you had one? What do they mean to you?

One thought on “Those ‘Here & Now’ Moments

Leave a Reply

